暴露后预防(PEP)

This post is also available in: English (英语) ไทย (泰语) 한국어 (韩语)

PEP 适用于自身 HIV 阴性但可能接暴露于 HIV 的人群。PEP 用的是一种短疗程的HIV药物,如果在接触 HIV 后 72 小时内服用,可以显著降低感染 HIV 的几率。

在性工作环境中可能接触到HIV并不一定要接受 PEP 治疗。医生或护士会根据以下情况评估是否应该让你接受 PEP 治疗:

  • 您以那种方式暴露于 HIV 之中(即阴道性交、肛交或口交、注射或其他方式)及其传染风险。
  • 对方的 HIV 阳性还是阴性。如果您不知道您认为可能使您接触到 HIV 的人的 HIV 状况,处方医生将使用 HIV 流行率数据来帮助确定您是否需要 PEP 治疗
  • 您目前是否感染了 HIV。PEP 治疗对已经感染HIV的人无效。

例如,病毒性肝炎和性健康医学学会对 HIV 的 PEP 治疗意见认为:澳大利亚国家指南通常不建议让与 HIV 状况未知的人进行无保护的阴道性交的女性进行 PEP。如果您与您不知道 HIV 感染状况的客户进行阴道性交时避孕套破裂,医生可能不会安排您进行 PEP 治疗。但是,如果该男性客户与其他男性发生了性关系或来自高发病率国家,健康专业人员将进一步调查您是否需要 PEP 治疗。

如果在与您不知道其 HIV 状况的客户进行接受性肛交时避孕套破裂,并且该客户是男男性行为者或来自高流行率国家,则《ASHM 指南》通常建议开具 PEP 治疗处方。然而,在更多的情况是,医疗保健专业人员可能会因您与不了解其 HIV 状况的人进行无保护的接受性肛交开具 PEP 处方。

虽然 PEP 处方有指导原则,但医疗保健专业人员会根据具体情况评估个人是否有资格获得该处方。为此,强烈建议您与医疗保健专业人员交谈,以评估如果您认为自己曾接触过 HIV,是否应开具 PEP 处方。

你必须在你可能接触过 HIV 72 小时内服用 PEP 药物才会有效。如果潜在暴露已经超过 72 小时,仍然建议您寻求医疗护理,以了解您的选择意愿。

当你开始 PEP 治疗时,医疗保健专业人员通常会抽取血样来检测 HIV。这个测试是为了看看你在开始 PEP 治疗之前是否感染了 HIV。在您服用 PEP 药物期间,您将被要求进行 HIV 和其他性传播感染的后续检测,并且在治疗 3 个月后,您将需要进行再一次 HIV 检测,以确保 PEP 治疗有效性。

开始 PEP 治疗时,必须连续 28 天每天服药。如果你错过了一剂,不要为了补上而加倍服用。请尽快服用药物,并联系您的处方医生或专门研究 HIV 的医疗保健专业人员,获得延迟服药是否会影响治疗效果以及您的意见。

有些人在服用 PEP 药物时有副作用, PEP 药物的副作用通常是轻度到中度,包括恶心、腹泻、头痛、疲劳和呕吐。通常,服用 PEP 药物大约一周后,副作用会消失,在你完成 PEP 治疗后,副作用会完全消失。

如果您在服用 PEP 时出现副作用或有任何其他问题,请咨询您的处方医生。您的处方医生可能会更换您正在服用的 PEP 药物,以最大限度地减少副作用。如果你需要一段时间的休息,你也可以从医生那里开证明。

你可以从大多数公立医院的急诊科、性健康中心、处方医生和诊所获得 PEP 治疗。大多数州都有 24 小时 PEP 热线或信息热线,你也可以点击网址 https://www.getpep.info/get-pep-now/获得你所在州或地区的提供 PEP 治疗场所信息。有些医院和性健康中心免费发放 PEP 药物。其他地方可能需要针对 PEP 药物和处方收费。如果您不符合医疗保险资格,可能会涉及额外费用。其他药物,如维生素、处方药和精神类药物,可以与 PEP 药物相互作用,改变其作用途径,并有可能加重其副作用。如果您正在服用其他药物或计划服用其他药物,建议告知您的处方医生,以尽量减少可能对您 PEP 治疗产生的影响。PEP 治疗不应该取代性行为安全措施。

Post Exposure Prophylaxis (PEP)

PEP is for HIV-negative people who have potentially been exposed to HIV. PEP is a short course of HIV medication, that if taken within 72 hours of exposure to HIV, can significantly reduce the chance of getting HIV.

Potentially being exposed to HIV in a sex work setting is not grounds alone for being prescribed PEP. The doctor or nurse will make an assessment of whether you should be prescribed PEP based on:

  • what type of HIV exposure you experienced (i.e. receptive or insertive vaginal, anal or oral sex, injecting or other) and its risk of transmission.
  • the HIV status of the person/s involved. If you do not know the HIV status of the person you think may have exposed you to HIV, the prescribing doctor will use HIV prevalence data to assist them in determining your need for PEP.
  • whether you currently have HIV. PEP is not effective or prescribed for people who already have HIV.

For example, the ASHM PEP for HIV: Australian National Guidelines generally do not recommend PEP for people who have had unprotected vaginal receptive intercourse with a person whose HIV status is unknown to them. You may not be prescribed PEP if a condom breaks while having vaginal receptive intercourse with a client whose HIV status is unknown to you. However, if the client is a man who has sex with other men (MSM) or from a high prevalence country, the health professional will investigate further whether you need PEP.

If a condom breaks while having receptive anal intercourse with a client whose HIV status is unknown to you and the client is an MSM or from a high prevalence country, the ASHM Guidelines generally recommend the prescription of PEP. However, there may be a broader range of circumstances that a healthcare professional may prescribe PEP for unprotected receptive anal intercourse with a person whose HIV status is unknown to you.

While there are guidelines for PEP prescription, healthcare professionals assess whether an individual is eligible for a prescription on a case-by-case basis. For this reason, it is highly recommended that you speak to a health care professional to assess whether you should be prescribed PEP if you think you have been exposed to HIV.

You must start taking PEP before 72 hours have passed since you were possibly exposed to HIV for it to be effective. If it has been over 72 hours since the potential exposure, it is still recommended that you seek medical attention to figure out what your options are.

When you are starting PEP, the health care professional will usually take a blood sample to test for HIV. This test is to see whether you had HIV before you started your PEP treatment. While you are taking PEP, you will be required to have a follow-up test for HIV and other STIs, and 3 months after your treatment, you will need another HIV test to make sure that the PEP treatment was effective.

When you start PEP treatment, you must take the medication every day for 28 days. If you miss a dose, do not double dose to catch up. Take the medication as soon as you can and contact your prescribing doctor or a healthcare professional that specialises in HIV to discuss whether taking your dose late will impact the effectiveness of the treatment and what your options are.

Some people do not experience any side effects when taking PEP while others do. The side effects of PEP are usually considered to be mild to moderate and can include nausea, diarrhoea, headaches, fatigue, and vomiting. Usually, the side-effects fade after about a week of taking PEP and they will completely go away after you finish your PEP treatment.

If you are experiencing side effects or have any other concerns while taking PEP, speak to your prescribing doctor. Your prescribing doctor may be able to alter the PEP medications you are taking to minimise the side effects. You may also be able to get a doctor’s certificate if you need some time off work.

You can get PEP from the emergency department of most public hospitals, sexual health centres, and prescribing doctors and clinics. Most states have a 24 hour PEP Hotline or information line or you can find out where you can get PEP in your state or territory via https://www.getpep.info/get-pep-now/. There are some hospitals and sexual health centres that dispense PEP free of charge. Otherwise, there may be a co-payment to getting your prescription filled. If you are not Medicare-eligible, there may be additional costs involved. Other drugs, such as vitamins, prescription drugs, and recreational drugs, can interact with PEP, changing the way PEP works and impacting the severity of PEP’s side effects. If you are taking other drugs or plan to, it is recommended you discuss this with your prescribing doctor to minimise the impact this may have on your PEP treatment. PEP should not replace safer sex practices.